Which exam to start with?

I've been a financial administrator for approx 8 years now. I just wanted to get advice from similar minded people outside of the company I work for on which exams are essential to pass and in what order I should pursue to become a fully competent paraplanner.

Thanks,
Reece

Comments

• I'd suggest working your way through the PFS diploma first as it's widely recognised (there are other routes). R01 is a logical place to start but be prepared that it is quite dry. Once you get it out of the way the other exams tend to be more directly applicable to the role.

im sure some other people will share about the CISI and IFS routes too
    Dan Atkinson FPFS CFP APP Chartered FCSI
    Chartered Financial Planner
    Certified Financial Planner
    Head of Technical at Paradigm Norton

Twitter: https://twitter.com/danatkinsonuk
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/danatkinsonuk/
  • amarshallamarshall Member, Moderator
    I agree with Dan. The diploma would be a great thing to aim for. Have a look at the modules that you can do to get your diploma and pick that ones that best suit your knwledge, experience and expected areas of work.
  • Whilst R01 has to be done personally I would do it towards the end as it is so dull! Pick one of the papers you feel strongest about to start with - getting a pass first time is always going to spur you on to greater things.

When you've got your diploma you can start on the AF papers; then CFP, Chartered, maybe IMC, Fellowship of CISI (assuming they still offer it) and a Masters - you could be doing exams for the next, what, 10 years!!!! - I speak from experience (although the Masters was a step too far for me!!)
  • R01 is by far one of the must dull exams I have done yet, but don't let that put you off.  Although I did find it useful after only being in the industry a short while.