Voyant outcomes & reports

How much of a Voyant report do you use in a client report?

I'm interested to hear what others do and whether we're missing a cracking insert that we've just not found.

Comments

• PeterMPeterM Member
    Hi Suse

I'm fairly new to Voyant so I'm sure others will have more useful suggestions but we just use the detailed versions of the cash flow and the liquid assets graphs.  We generally don't bother with the cash flow tables as they take up too much space in the report.

Personally I prefer the simple cash flow graph as I think it is much clearer (particularly when there is a shortfall) but the boss likes the detailed one, so we use the detailed one.

Occasionally we use the IHT simulator to compare plans comparison but you need to use the Snip Tool as there is no actual report from this.

Once I get a proper handle on how to use Voyant to demonstrate Capacity for Loss,  I would like to start using some of the outputs for this but it might be a while before I am at that level.    

Peter
  • I have a similar experience to Peter. When I've used Voyant I've stuck to what I think is useful for the client ie the graphical output. Then explaining what's what underneath them. I've created reports for IFAs where they specify what elements they want and the whole Voyant output goes in as an appendix.

The most important thing to remember is that the client needs to get value from what you are telling them, so make the charts you use those that have meaning to their circumstances and objectives. Cash flow planning can get very complicated very quickly. For example if a client is way under the asset threshold for having an IHT issue then they won't get anything from a page of charts showing them this. A sentence will do the same job and save you a lot of time.
    Benjamin Fabi 
  • Thanks both - that's my experience too. There's so much you could put in but really what matters is what helps the client understand.