Labour Changes and Clients wishing to Take PCLS

Hi All,

I work as a paraplanner at a firm in the west midlands. Over the past week we have had over 10 requests from clients wishing to take their PCLS with no real objective other than the speculation that labour may change rules around accessing PCLS.

Have any firms also experienced this and how are the advisers going about managing the clients? Additionally, if anyone has got to case stage how is this being documented or are advisers saying that it is impossible to advise on legislation that has not already been put in place.

Cheers
Cal

Comments

• Hi Cal

Yes plenty of clients think the same it seems! We have reiterated the point to clients that any big changes like this have also largely included some new form of protection for benefits already accrued. Also, in June Labour said specifically they are not doing anything to tax-free cash, although that was before they discovered the black hole.

If you can't see a good reason to advise the client to take it, then I don't think following an insistent client or execution only process is a problem here.

Also, as was pointed out the other day, some providers offer a cooling off period for PCLS so if it taken between 2nd October and 29th October they can change their mind if nothing happens in the budget (need to check with the provider though and of course find out about timescales, some seem to be very slow in paying right now...)

Tom

• Using cancellation rights for the PCLS as a hedge against the Budget doesn't seem to be in the spirit of tax law.

What do HMRC say about tax avoidance? Artificial transactions designed to obtain a tax advantage fall under the general anti-abuse rules.