R03

Hey! R03 is the first exam I have attempted and have recently failed for the fourth time. I am relatively new to the industry and have put in a lot of time with revision. I have never failed anything four times and it is killing my confidence in my abilities. I am starting to worry this industry isn't for me as there are a lot of exams worth more credits which I can only assume will be as difficult, if not more difficult! For anyone who has passed R03, I would be interested to know how many attempts did it take you to pass? Thanks!

Comments

• Hi Aimee

Can I ask, why did you start with R03? My journey with the R0 exams started with R01 as I felt it was likely to be the least interesting of the units. I then did R02 and by that time, I had a fair number of years' experience and also tax is touched on, although nowhere near as in depth as R03. My feeling is if you can nail those two first, there is less tax to learn as you will already have picked some up already.

Have you tried using other revision materials? The question banks from the CII I found to be very useful, others like the material from BrandFT, or perhaps Wizard learning.

Are you failing by a wide margin? It may be that you're not quite used to how the CII word their questions, using a lot of double negatives in an apparent attempt to confuse - one missed (or misconstrued) word can change the question entirely.

I certainly think you chose a very tough exam to start, and it may be worth considering taking a step back, and considering CF1 to get you into the groove and get some confidence back. CF1 is by no means easy, but for someone new to the industry it may be a better place to start while you build up your experience.

Happy to chat if you have any questions (for the record, I'm having problems myself with a different exam!!)

• Hi Aimee,