Initial Costs

Hey all,

I'm newly registered here but have been reading regularly since way back.

I've been paraplanning for over 10 years (in finance for almost double that) and hold FPFS - up until now I've been employed but feel it may be the right time to look to spread my wings and set up on my own in the new year. I've done a fair bit of research and many great answers are on this forum so I won't cover old ground, but any tips or words of wisdom very much appreciated!

One thing I would like to know as it will dictate when I can actually make the move is what sort of ball park capital would I need to start up? I know I'll need a safety net of at least a few months costs and I'm aiming for about 6 months but can anyone give me an idea of the legal and admin costs involved at the outset? I know this will be very different for everyone but some idea would be great.

Thank you very much for any advice

Ted

Comments

• Hi Ted

Firstly, welcome!

I'm a relatively new outsourced paraplanner, so have been through the initial costs and the company has been debt free for some time now. I actually set up my company while I was still employed, and did some freelance work for a couple of other outsourced paraplanners to get some money in the bank for the expensive stuff!

One of the mistakes I made was to appoint an accountant, which blew a massive hole in my finances (I discussed with my wife about three months in that I didn't think I'd be able to pay them; fortunately I had a VAT refund which helped to plug the gap!). I would get a bookkeeper in to begin with, even if you go the Limited Company route, as it will be a lot cheaper. By the time you do need an accountant you will hopefully have sufficient funds to afford one!

I did this for around 7 months, before I was made redundant, however this just moved my go live date by a month (in fact I was just about to hand in my notice!)