Future paraplanner seeking career advice

Good morning all,

I'm a 37 year old professional (not financial services) and, whilst successful in my field, I find my work ultimately unfulfilling.

I have been thinking of moving into paraplanning (perhaps lifestyle financial planning later on) for a fair while now. I have always been interested in personal finance and I've spent a lot of commuting time listening to Meaningful Money, Informed Choice, Nextgen planners and the like. Ultimately, I would love to help people. I believe it would motivate me hugely and I would take a great deal of pleasure from my work.

I understand that one possible route in would be to complete CII level 4 diploma under my own steam and apply for vacancies. I am fine with this as it shows a bit of willing.

What would be realistic after completing level 4? Is it possible to go straight into paraplanning? I have heard a lot about paraplanning and financial planning in general being areas where demand far exceeds supply and you would think this would manifest itself in plenty of job vacancies. I don't necessarily see them. Indeed there are a fairly small number of opportunities on the nextgen planners jobs board. What are your thoughts on this?

Thank you so much for any support/advice you may offer me.

Cheers

Comments

• StephenHStephenH Member
    edited October 2020
    Hi (and hi, everyone. My first post!)

I’m going to piggy back onto your post if you don’t mind as I’m really keen to see the responses as I have a lot of similarities to your situation: in my 30s and planning a career change into financial services, keen interest in personal finance that’s grown with listening to the podcasts you’ve mentioned, a desire to help people understand their finances etc.

It sounds like I’m one step ahead of your thinking as I recently started the CII Level 4 Diploma in Regulated Financial Planning. I’ve passed 2 exams so far and have my 3rd one booked for the end of next month.