AF1 and JO2

Hi all!

I have just passed RO6 and obtained my Diploma so I am looking at starting the path to Chartered and the bigger Advanced exams!!

I am a newbie in the industry (only 3 years out of uni) and as such, I don't have a lot of prior/ on the job knowledge, so my learning is all very much from scratch.

Has anyone sat both JO2 and AF1 at the same time and can you give me an honest opinion on how you found doing this? It's my understanding that the syllabuses are similar and so it seems to make sense to do them at the same time, but I don't know if I am giving myself too much work by attempting both in October. Also, what additional resources (if any) did everyone use, I have seen a few mentions of the Expert Pensions study notes?

Any thoughts or suggestions would be very much appreciated!

Many thanks
Meghan

Comments

• Hi Meghan

If I could have my time again I would definitely sit J and AF papers at the same time. It is basically the same syllabus, but the exams have a slightly different application of the knowledge. You can get a feel for the differences looking at the past papers.

I didn't sit J02 and AF1 together, but when I did AF4 I did J10 and J12 a couple of weeks later. I didn't spend significantly longer revising and the workbooks for the diploma level papers had loads of extra details relevant to the AF4 exam.

If I were you, I'd go for it. If you find the process ok then you'll dramatically reduce the time you take to get loads of credits and you won't have to learn it again.

I have used Expert Pensions and BrandFT. Both very good.

Benjamin Fabi 
  • I think it is a no brainer to do AF1 and JO2 together. In the RO papers, trusts are only dealt with very lightly and you will potentially need to know a great deal more for AF1.