Question for PP managers - maintaining report quality

Hi
I am a PP manager, I wonder if the more experienced managers can shed some light on how you tackle an issue I am facing...
How do you ensure your reports are of the highest quality in terms of spelling, grammar, value for money for clients. We have a checking team, unfortunately errors still get through.
We are extremely busy and reading eachothers reports is not practical.
Do you struggle with attention to detail in your team?
Anyone successfully overcome this?

Thanks
p.s we need a group here for PP team leaders and managers! 😁

Comments

• We are extremely busy and reading each others reports is not practical.
    Do you struggle with attention to detail in your team?

I think you've identified your main problem. The first step to ensure quality is to accept that it cannot be achieved in an environment where the workload is too high for the number of people.

Fast Turnaround
    Premium Quality
    Low Cost (ie not enough staff)

Whoever sets your targets has to pick two of these three, they can't have them all.

In your checking team, do they identify the errors and kick back into your team to resolve? If so, can they make any minor amendments themselves and produce KPIs to measure the paraplanners against?

Benjamin Fabi 
  • richallumrichallum Administrator

I've set up a Team leaders & managers category and moved this thread to it :-)

Paraplanner. F1, Apple, Nutella, ice cream. No trite motivational quotes. Turning a bit northern. 

• I agree with Ben, if there is pressure from high work loads or to get stuff out the door quickly you are going to struggle to maintain high levels of quality.

That aside, my questions would be, with your checking team, are they checking all reports, or a sampling? Are there themes with the errors? Are the same people making the same errors, which could be a training issue, or are there lots of different errors, which could be down to rushing.