Looking to join CII

Hello all,

I’m a part-qualified accountant and I’ve been looking at various IFA qualifications. I want to gain a diploma relatively quickly and I think the quickest route is their Diploma in RFP, as I can sit R01-R05 whenever I’m ready (as long as the exam centre has availability)

Can anyone recommend any other possibilities?

Thanks!

Comments

• I agree RO exams are the most straightforward way forward. Good luck!

RO1 - The FCA Handbook exam - read the text book, exam is ok with several common sense questions.
    RO2 - investments and maths - long exam and your first real challenge
    RO3 - Tax - perhaps not too bad considering your background. You're short on time for this one.
    RO4 - probably the biggest challenge, pensions, read the book and go on relavent seminars.
    RO5 - Protection, lower level exam and should be ok with a thorough reading of the text book
    RO6 - Putting the other 5 into practive, written exam (the other 5 are multi-choice).

• Thanks for the info!

I've signed up this morning and scheduled exams for R03 and R04 mid July.

How accurate do you think the recommended study hours are for the R03/R04 papers? I'm currently scheduling 50ish hours for each, but seems I may need to amend this based on your comments...

Do you recommend purchasing the CII text for each of these? I've booked the exam only through CII, and now can't get hold of the textbook, and other sellers only seem to have condensed notes..

• edited June 2018

I would suggest textbooks for all except RO6 (by which time you'll have the first 5 which should suffice).

I've never really calculated how long i've taken revising. But enough time to read through the book twice and do 3/4 mocks (understanding the answers).... At least 3 weeks of 2/3 hours a day i suppose. All depends on your current knowledge levels and approach to study generally.