Mid Life Career Change from professional role to Paraplanning advice please

Hi,

I’m after some advice / guidance and hope someone, in what looks to be an amazing group, would be able to give me a bit of a steer.

I don’t work in th finance industry currently but am seriously considering a change in my career and have been considering options for about a year now.

At the moment I work part time in a fairly senior commercial & operations role for a consulting engineers in the construction industry. I’ve been doing this for just over 20 years, (I’m mid 40s)

I’ve always been really interested in finance and personal finance and this really ramped up about 3 years ago and in conjunction with a growing disillusionment with my current industry, I’ve concluded I don’t have to grind out years doing a job which provides me with zero satisfaction when I have the opportunity to make a career change into something I'm interested in.

I understand broadly the initial qualification requirements and am on the cusp of self funding to do the CII Diploma in Regulated Financial Planning.

Broadly my plan is to study for the above qualification and then look for a part time (2 days per week) trainee paraplanner role, either once I’ve passed some of the exams or after I’ve gained the qualification (subject to the below question). Is this realistic / feasible? Do such roles exist or would companies likely be interested in taking on a mature trainee on this basis.

Is it feasible/ possible to do the exams while not working in industry? I’ve looked at past papers and options around training courses and am confident I could pass the RO1- R05 modules from a pure academic perspective but am unsure how feasible it is to pass them generally (or specifically the R06 module) without actually have experience in ‘doing’.

Many thanks for your time reading this and in advance of any help or advice you can provide.
Steve

Comments

• Hi Steve

Welcome to the group!