Administrator to Paraplanner - Struggle!

Hi all,

Summary: Qualified admin, 3 years experience, technically capable but incapable of finding a paraplanning role. Can't get experience without getting a paraplanning job, can't get paraplanning role without experience

I'm in bit of a quandary and was hoping for some advice from some of the more experienced heads around here, or those who have found themselves in a similar situation.

I have been diploma qualified for what is coming up to two years now with a couple of other certificates and hopefully a pass in AF7 come December.

I started in the IFA world about 3 years ago as an administrator, I am still an administrator. I am really struggling to find a paraplanning position. The firms I have worked for, advisers write their own reports, with research done by technical support. Despite being told of opportunities to move into the tech support roles at these firms in the interview stage and by recruiters the reality has actually been different (for various reasons), therefore I have little exposure to applying the exam material and no report writing experience. Basically the past two times I've been brought on have been to manage difficult advisers as a more technically able/ experienced admin. But now I feel like I'm stagnating and it's the classic case of "if you don't use it you lose it".

I am currently applying for trainee paraplanner roles however for the majority even if they only ask for a couple of exams and a couple of years experience they still want you to have experience in technical report writing. It seems they want a fully fledged paraplanner for a trainee salary?

I feel a little bit disillusioned when I look at friends who have gone the SJP route and are now already trainee advisers from the same point of leaving uni and being equally qualified.