Clients Requesting Investment Withdrawals - non advised

I am new to the report writing side of the business having previously been doing admin so am trying to get my head around quite a bit at the moment so be gentle!!

We are currently reviewing all our suitability letters etc to try and streamline and ensure we are still including what we need. One area which has cropped up whilst doing this is when a client calls up to request an unplanned withdrawal from their pension.

It appears our process is
1. Client calls and requests withdrawal.
2. Client provides letter to us confirming he/she wishes to make a withdrawal from pension and neither requires nor wishes advice.
3. We call and process withdrawal.
4. End.

This does not seem sufficient and reading a compliance email received the other day. I am about to read through the COBS 19.7 Retirement risk warnings.

Can I ask what other firms use as a process?

Comments

• For me, what's important is whether or not that client has had a withdrawal before.

If it's the first time, yes a formal recommendation with risk warnings is provided.

For the 2nd+ times, I think what you've suggested above is fine. So long as the initial report says 'you can and will make ad-hoc withdrawals'.

• Thank you for responding @arongunningham . I have been looking back in the file and see the client took full TFC and no income at that point. The SR was a drawdown report as funds had been transferred in from a GPP to a new plan with drawdown facility. It does state
    'Under new Flexi Access Drawdown rules there is no limit to the amount of income that can be taken from your pension each year. However, any income taken will be added to your other taxable income this year and income tax charged accordingly. This can have a significant impact on the net income received.