A Harvest question

This is probably a bit of a silly question, bearing in mind I've been using Harvest for a few months now and unpicking what I've done... eurgh!!!

I just wanted to ask this: when you add a new project, what do you put in the Client field and the Project Name? Up until now, I've been adding the client as the 'end' client, and the project name as the type of work (eg DB transfer/ISA top-up, etc).

Now that I've been involved in projects with one of my clients, I'm wondering whether that is the right way to go, and am thinking that I should actually put the adviser company in the client name, and the 'end client' name in the Project Name, with the job in the notes field (or set up project codes).

I'm trying to think ahead when it comes to reviewing things in future, and my OCD nature prefers order, rather than an incoherent mess!!!

Thanks in advance for your input :smile:

Comments

• Hi Andy,

I use it as you are thinking about...

Client - my client , the entity I'm invoicing (but I don't use Harvest for invoicing).
    Project - their client and a code identifier eg SR (suitability report), AR YYYY (annual review and year).

I also have:
    an 'Hourly Rate Work mm/yyyy' project for every client and I use the notes field on the individual time entry to identify what this was.
    a non-billable 'General Admin' project for every client. I preface this with a 1 (ie '1.General Admin') so it always sits at the top :smile:

I archive all projects once the invoice has been issued.

Setting up like this gives powerful reporting options. Continuing as you are now will make it very difficult to produce useful data on how profitable an adviser is, because you aren't identifying them uniquely in the system.

I set up the normal projects (ie not the hourly or general admin ones) as follows:

My person hourly rate is my global rate, and I do have standard 'tasks' in each project, which are: admin, adviser liaison (very recent addition) and paraplanning.