Grammar Expert Needed

Hey

Any grammar experts available?

"Neither of you smoke" or "Neither of you smokes" ?

"however” – shouldn’t be used as a substitute for “but” in the middle of a sentence

When you write a report for a couple and you want to address one of them (e.g. you want to say that Jake is 37), then you should use the third person, rather than the second. So, you should write “Jake is 37”, rather than “Jake, you are 37”.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• edited June 2019

I'm not an expert, but this is what I would do:

You are both non-smokers

I do use however as a substitute for but in the middle of a sentence (not as a rule, but I wouldn't think not to use it).

Jake is 37

• NathanNathan Member

Thanks @arongunningham I do not confess to being a wordsmith but in the context of saying

" You both consider yourselves to be in good health and neither of you smokes." sounds weird to me, I much prefer
    " You both consider yourselves to be in good health and neither of you smoke."

Personally, I prefer "however" rather than "but", but / however it is not correct.

In terms of the third person, personally I wouldn't want to read about myself as the third person in a report, the report is about me, not Nathan.

All just personal opinions and I am just trying to establish what is correct.

• There may, however, be other reasons that we don't know about.

... but there may be other reasons we don't know about.

Both this sentences could work, couldn't they? I don't know why you can't use however as a replacement for but.

• RazorRazor Member

It is 'neither of you smoke'. Smoke is the verb, and as it is second personal plural, there is no 's' added. The s is only added if you are using the third person (he/she).

P.S. I have found learning another language does wonders for understanding English grammar.

• NathanNathan Member

@Razor said: